Onion Juice Challenge

Blogging does not come easy to me, and as you can clearly see, I am struggling to keep up. Since I have been MIA, let me tell you why. My hair suddenly started falling off in the month of June and it has not stopped. I also happened to travel for a month in August, and sadly the water did not suit my hair at all. I lost more hair than before and the texture changed drastically. My hair were dry and brittle throughout. I just lost all hope to start over my hair journey.

Fast forward to October, my hair fall is still too much and it has left me feeling depressed. But, but, I have found motivation (which I hope lasts long) so I have decided to start a hair journey for the entire month of October (and will continue if I see positive results).

As you are aware, I am suffering from hypothyroidism. The first change, or rather the first step I am taking is to take my thyroid medication on time, everyday. I know this doesn’t sound very drastic, but for me, keeping my thyroid in check is very important. Secondly , I am taking Biotin 10000 mcg tablets daily , once.
Warning for anyone who plans to take Biotin: The side effects may include acne so please do your research before taking it. Also, if you need to do any medical tests, make sure you stop taking Biotin 2-3 days prior to doing the test as it can interfere with your results (especially thyroid test results).

Now, for what I am really trying to do: I am going to apply onion and ginger juice on my hair every time before washing my hair. Yes, I know it sounds crazy, and also a little disgusting (because of the smell, duh!). Onion contains Sulfur which is highly beneficial for your hair growth. I wash my hair twice a week so basically I will be doing this 8 times a month. And as October has already begun, I have already done my first hair wash! For this treatment, you will need:

  • One red Onion
  • Two-Inch piece of ginger
  • Essential-Oil of your liking (Optional)

Put the onion and ginger in a blender and then take a sieve or a cloth and squeeze out the juice. Add your choice of essential oil to mask the smell of the ingredients. I personally put tea-tree oil because of its antibacterial, anti-inflammatory, antiviral, and antifungal properties. You can keep it from 30 mins to 1 hour. If anyone wishes to, they can mix it with their choice of oil (not literally mix because they both have different densities). I try not to add oil because my hair strands are very thin and oil is heavy on them, which just leads to more hair fall.

I will also, occasionally try different DIY masks, about which I will keep you updated. I will try to take pictures and see if it makes a difference at all.

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment